Monday, October 17, 2011

200 students were inducted into the Phi Eta Sigma honor society last week

Approximately 200 of Stetson University’s top students were inducted into Phi Eta Sigma National Honor Society at a Re-Chartering and Induction Ceremony at Stetson University last week. Phi Eta Sigma is the oldest and largest freshman honor society and was originally chartered at Stetson in 1978 but had been inactive since the mid-1990s.  Stetson is the only central Florida college or university to have chapters of both Phi Eta Sigma, which specifically for freshmen, and Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s most prestigious honor society for all undergraduate years.
All current undergraduate students who met the qualifications of having earned a 3.5 or higher GPA during their first year at university were invited to become members.
Furthermore, four Stetson faculty members were selected as honorary members this year - Dr. Michael Denner. associate professor of Russian studies: Dr. Phillip Lucas. Professor of religious studies: Dr. Carolyn Nicholson, professor of marketing: and Dr. Stephen Robinson, professor of music.
At the ceremony, students were encouraged by several people to continue pursuing academic accomplishment. They were also told to find, explore, and share their passions for learning and teaching. 
"Love your studies. Love the people you study with. Pass it on."

No comments:

Post a Comment